Congratulations to Our Scholastic Art and Writing Award Recipients!

picture of 6 scholastic award winners

Some of the Scholastic Award honorees. Left to right: Riya B., Sara B., Tiffany M., Gwen C., Noel P., Margaret Z.

This year, thirteen Castilleja students were among the West Region at Large winners of the Scholastic Art & Writing Competition.

The Scholastic Art and Writing Awards are presented by the Alliance for Young Writers, an organization dedicated to celebrating extraordinarily talented student writers and artists. This year, students aged 7-12 across America submitted nearly 32,000 works in 29 different categories of art and writing. Students are awarded based on the affiliate region they live in (all Castilleja students are in the Western Region at Large), and those whose works receive Gold Key advanced to a higher round for national adjudication.

The Scholastic Art and Writing Awards are divided into two sections, Art and Writing. Categories for the Art section include: Architecture, Comic art, Jewelry, Mixed media, Photography, and more. Categories for the Writing section include: Drama, Humor, Journalism, and Personal essay/Memoir, and more. The contest also offers sponsored awards, such as Neiman Marcus Award for Fashion, sponsored by Neiman Marcus, and the Gedenk Award for Tolerance, sponsored by the Gedenk movement.


In the art division, the following students were recognized:

Gold Key: Emma Glickman ‘16 (Photography); Gabrielle Occhipinti ‘16 (Photography); Grace Stevenson ‘17 (Photography); and Isabella Wang ‘17 (Painting)

 Silver Key: Emma Glickman ‘16 (Photography); Grace Stephenson ‘17 (Photography);  Mimi Tran-Zambetti ‘16 (Painting); and Isabella Wang ‘17 (Painting)

Honorable Mention: Tiffany Madruga ‘16 (Painting); Gabrielle Occhipinti ‘16 (Photography); Mimi Tran-Zambetti ‘16 (Painting); and Isabella Wang ‘17 (Drawing and Illustration).


In the writing division, the following students were recognized:

Gold Key: Sara Bell ‘17 (Poetry, Journalism); Riya Berry ‘18 (Critical Essay); and Noel Peng ‘17 (Poetry)

Silver Key: Riya Berry ‘18 (Humor); Gwen Cusing ‘17 (Poetry); Sho Sho Leigh Ho ‘19 (Personal Essay/Memoir, Short Story, Poetry); Katie Mishra ‘18 (Critical Essay); and Margaret Zhang ‘17 (Poetry, Journalism, Flash Fiction)

Honorable Mention: Sara Bell ‘17 (Personal Essay/Memoir, Poetry); Gwen Cusing ‘17 (Journalism); Sho Sho Leigh Ho ‘19 (Short Story, Poetry); Noel Peng ‘17 (Poetry); and Margaret Zhang ‘17 (Poetry, Personal Essay/Memoir).


Congratulations to all our winners, and a special thank you to all the Castilleja teachers who helped those students get where they are today! For more information about the Scholastic Art and Writing awards, please check out their website here.


-Riya B., ’18

This post was written by:

- who has written 113 posts on Castilleja School Library.


Contact the author

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.