Databases

Access to databases from off-campus: your username is the same as the first part of your email address (for example, 15jsmith.). The password is your MAIN Castilleja password (what you use for wifi). If you’ve forgotten this password, you can reset it at https://password.castilleja.org or you can contact the Tech Department.

In addition to the databases below, we also have reference ebooks here.

    Access World News Research Collection – Provides primary sources from over 12000 sources from over 200 countries around the world to support for all subject areas.
Alexander Street – An affinity-rich collection of primary source materials covering women’s history; disability in the modern world; LGBTQ, North American Indian, and Black American Culture and Thought; dramatic texts from around the world, along with scripts from classic films and a collection of primary and secondary sources on costume, lighting, set, an sound design. Also includes the Global Issues Library, covering human rights, migration, incarceration, environment, engineering, and more. (Off-campus access forthcoming.)
ARTstorartstor-logo – a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. To log-in, use email account/pw combination you used to register while on campus
Biography in Context600,000+ biographies covering more than 528,000 individuals, living and deceased.
Culture Gramsculturegrams – cultural profiles of more than 200 nations.
Daily Life through History (ABC-CLIO)daily life through historydiscover the everyday details about past eras that make historical accounts relevant and meaningful.
Encyclopedia Britannica logoEncyclopedia Britannica – access to Encyclopedia Britannica online.
Gale Academic Onefile Select – scholarly and general interest periodicals (full-text and non full-text coverage).
CL_Social_Media_Icon_400x400Gale Databases – comprehensive list and cross-searchable selection of several Gale databases on an array of academic topics.
Gale eBooks – access to online reference books in ebook format.
Gale Health and Wellness – reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a variety of authoritative medical sources.
Historical NewspapersHISTORICAL NEWS – deep archives of major national newspapers, including articles from The New York Times from 1851-2005 — for more recent newspaper articles, use ProQuest.
History Vault – US History-focused archival materials such as letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials. These collections cover topics related to slavery and Black freedom, women in the US, 20th century labor history, North American Indian history of the last two centuries, and US Politics, foreign affairs, and military conflicts.
Indian Claims – This database includes court documents, cites treaties, related congressional publications, and maps. The removal of Indian Nations from American lands desired by white settlers was grounded in the treaty making process through which white European settlers sought to usurp Native American lands through a process of negotiation rather than direct conquest.
Informe Académico – full text of more than 500 Spanish- and Portuguese-language magazines and journals, including academic, professional, and general-interest titles, with subjects ranging from medicine to science to the humanities to lifestyles.
logoIssues and Controversies – in-depth investigations of news and public policy issues.
Issues and Controversies in American Historyicah logo – background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for major topics in American history.
JSTORjstor_logo – full-text scholarly journal articles from all academic disciplines. JSTOR’s coverage extends back to the earliest date of publication of a given periodical, but will not usually include the very latest issues. If you do not have an account with JSTOR, you must create one the first time you visit the site.
JSTOR Independent Voicesjstor_logo – open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Literature Resource Centerlit res center – full-text literary criticism, biographies and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods. Some full text poems, essays, and prose as well.
LitFinderlitfinder – full-text and index entries for literary works from many genres, including short stories, speeches, essays, and plays — includes brief author biographies and critical treatments, but for full-blown literary criticism and/or biography, visit the Literature Resource Center or JSTOR.
NoveList – a bibliophile’s database that will give you book recommendations based on your preferences, from theme to writing style to setting, and includes reviews, book lists, and genre guides.
Noodletools iconNoodletools – student research platform with MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian citation building, bibliographies, notecards, and outlining.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context – information on current hot topics arranged in a pro and con format.
white O on blue background The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt -Featuring 600 original articles written by leading scholars, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt goes far beyond the records of archaeology to make available what we know about the full social, political, religious, cultural and artistic legacy of this 5,000-year civilization.
 white O on blue backgroundThe Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome – Offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
Oxford English Dictionary – the entirety of the Oxford English Dictionary online. Provides definitions, etymology, first usages of a word, evolution of meaning, and more.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online – the best current scholarship in the field for students, scholars, government officials, community groups, and librarians to foster a more accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world.
white O on blue backgroundThe Oxford Encyclopedia of Meso American Culture – Comprehensive reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America.
ProQuest Research Libraryproquest – Click here to see our new, expanded, affinity-rich collection, including contemporary global news, more than 40 historical newspapers, many historical magazines (with several focusing on women’s magazines), political/international relations databases, and scholarly journals. For earlier issues of newspapers, see Historical Newspapers above.
SIRS (Social Issues Resource Series)SIRS – a general reference database exploring social, scientific, historic, economic, political, and global issues.
SIRS DecadesSIRS decades – 5000 hand-selected primary and secondary source articles highlighting key events, movements, people and places in 20th century America.
SIRS Discoverersirs discoverySIRS‘ more visual interface for beginning researchers.
Screen Shot 2016-11-02 at 9.54.06 AMSlavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law  essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world, including every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
Statistical Abstracts of the USportal to statistics, market research, business intelligence and more from both governmental and private institutions. Covers a huge array of topics, and information is often in graphic or visual format.
Statistical Abstracts of the World – portal to statistics, market research, business intelligence and more from both governmental and private institutions. Covers a huge array of topics, and information is often in graphic or visual format.
Student Editionstudent editionaccess to more than 1100 indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books. Topics include current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Student Resources in Context – allows you to search for a topic or era and view both generalized and specialized resources, like newspapers, academic journals, and multimedia, to get a full picture of the topic without information overload.
US Government Documents – Congressional Hearings and Research Reports, as well as documents from the Executive Branch.
US History in Context – contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. Includes magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to websites.
World Book – the entire World Book Encyclopedia online, in English and Spanish. Coverage of thousands of topics and good for preliminary research or answers to quick questions.
World History: Ancient & Medieval (ABC-CLIO)world history abc clio – articles about all aspects of the ancient and medieval world.
World History in Contextallows you to search for a topic or era and view both generalized and specialized resources to get a full picture of the topic without information overload.

 

 


Save